FANDOM


Max's Electric Company is a long-running American children's television series created by Joan Ganz Cooney and Lloyd Morrisett. The program is known for its educational content, and images communicated through the use of Jim Henson's Muppets.


ErasEdit

Golden (1966-2004)Edit

The original Max's Electric Company series, premiered at 11:30 am Eastern (10:30 Central) on June 13, 1966, originating from the NBC headquarters in New York City's Rockefeller Center. NBC moved the program to 12:00 noon Eastern (11:00 am Central) after 18 months, making it accessible to businessmen coming home for their lunch break, and college students departing their classes for the day. These two constituencies, who ordinarily did not have the time or interest to view other daytime programs, made the show a runaway hit, propelling its ratings to second place among all daytime educational shows by the end of the decade—second only to its immediate lead-in, Sesame Street. The show had practically no trouble whatsoever against The New Adventures of Winnie The Pooh.

However in 1973, Lin Bolen, then Vice President of Daytime Programming at NBC, began eliminating longer-running educational from the network in an aggressive attempt to bolster ratings among kids aged 8-14. Refreshing the daytime lineup became especially imperative to Bolen when CBS launched a surprise success in the spin-off Max Idiotest! at Noon/11, drawing away younger audiences in particular. Although Max's Electric Company continued to produce high ratings in the 12:00 noon time slot (also against the ABC revival of Password), Bolen moved the game to 10:30 am Eastern (9:30 Central) on January 7, 1974, putting it up against CBS' The $10,000 Pyramid, and placed Jackpot!, a stylish, youth-oriented riddle contest hosted by Geoff Edwards, in Max's Electric Company!'s former time slot. Bolen and other NBC executives were surprised, though, when Max's Electric Company actually beat Pyramid.